Abruzzo, Italy

Abruzzo is a region in central western Italy. It is bordered by Marche to the north, Lazio to the west and Molise to the southeast. Abruzzo has a coastline facing the Adriatic Sea to the east. It covers 10.763 sq km (4,156 sq mi) and a population of 1.35 million people (2012 estimate).

More on Abruzzo

The Apennine Mountain divides Abruzzo into two climatic regions. The coastal areas experience a Mediterranean climate. Here, summers are hot and dry while winters mild and rainy. Further inland are the mountain ranges which experience cooler climate. The plains and west-facing slopes of the Apennine mountain ranges also experience more rain than the eastern side of the range.
The locals of Abruzzo speak three different dialects of Italian. The Sabine dialect is spoken in L’Aquila. The Abruzzo Adriatic dialect is predominant in the provinces of Teramo, Pescara and Chieti, while the Abruzzo western dialect is often heard in L’Aquila as well.
Abruzzo has a wealth of historical and cultural cities. It attracts an increasing number of tourists, mainly domestic tourists but also arrivals from Germany and France.

Visiting Abruzzo

Cities & Towns in Abruzzo

  1. L’Aquila – capital
  2. Pescara – largest city
  3. Avezzano
  4. Chieti
  5. Lanciano
  6. Sulmona
  7. Teramo
  8. Vasto

Tourist Resorts in Abruzzo

  1. Alba Adriatica
  2. Costa dei Trabocchi
  3. Francavilla al Mare
  4. Giulianova
  5. Martinsicuro
  6. Montesilvano
  7. Ortona
  8. Pineto
  9. Roseto degli Abruzzo
  10. Silvi Marina
  11. Tortoreto
  12. Vasto

Historical and Cultural Cities

  1. Chieti
  2. Giulianova
  3. L’Aquila
  4. Pescara
  5. Sulmona
  6. Teramo
  7. Vasto

National Parks in Abruzzo

  1. Abruzzo National Park
  2. Gran Sasso e Monti della Laga National Park
  3. Majella National Park
  4. Sirente Velino Regional Park

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published.