Apollo Bay, Australia
More on Apollo Bay
Until the arrival of Europeans to the Apollo Bay area, it was inhabited by the Gadubanud tribe of indigenous people. White settlement started in the 1840s when the Henty brothers established a whaling station in the area, at the western end of a bay. The bay was named Apollo Bay by one Captain Loutit in 1845, after his vessel, the
Apollo. The settlement later took its name after the bay.
By the 1850s, Apollo Bay has evolved into a logging town. Sawmills were built in the area. Once the land was cleared, farmers moved in, establishing a village called Middleton. It was relocated in 1873 and renamed Krambruk. As it grew, it was renamed again, to Apollo Bay in 1898.
Visiting Apollo Bay
From Melbourne, take the M1 (Princes Freeway) to Geelong, then continue on the Great Ocean Road (B1) heading west till you reach Apollo Bay.
Places of Interest in Apollo Bay
- Bass Strait Shell Museum
Museum displaying a vast collection of seashells.
- Old Cable Station Museum
Museum that houses artifacts and articles from the old cable station, which once served the telecommunication between mainland Australia and Tasmania.