Cameroon is a country on the west coast of central Africa. It covers 475,442 sq km (183,568 sq mi) and has a population of about 19.2 million people (2011 estimate). Its capital is Yaoundé while its largest city is Douala.

More on Cameroon

Cameroon is bordered by Equitorial

Guinea, Gobon and the Republic of the Congo to the south, the Central African Republic to the east, Chad to the northeast, and Nigeria to the west. It has a coastline on the Bight of Bonny, which is part of the Gulf of Guinea and the Atlantic Ocean.

Cameroon is on West Africa Time, which is an hour ahead of Coordinated Universal Time. Its traffic is on the right side of the road. The phone IDD code here is +237. The local currency is the Central African CFA. French and English are official languages of the country. In 2009, Cameroon has a nominal GDP of $22.223 billion and a per capita nominal GDP of $1,115. The per capital GDP at purchasing power parity is at $2,300.

Rhumsiki Peak, Cameroon
Rhumsiki Peak, Cameroon
Author: Amcaja (Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported)

Menchum Falls, Cameroon

Unlike most countries in Africa, Cameroon comprises territories which were separately colonied by the French and the British. The French-administered Cameroon gained independence in 1960 to form the Republic of Cameroun. When the British-administered Cameroons gained independence in 1961, it merged with the Republic of Cameroun to form the Federal Republic of Cameroon. In 1972 it was renamed the United Republic of Cameroon and in 1984 the Republic of Cameroon.

Also unlike many of its neighbors, Cameroon enjoys a relatively stable government, enabling the development of the country and its infrastructure. Nevertheless most Cameroonians are still living below the poverty line.

Planning your visit to Cameroon

Except for the citizens of

Central African Republic, Chad, Mali and Nigeria, all other visitors need a visa before arriving. All visa applications have to be supported by a letter of invitation from a resident in Cameroon. You also need a yellow fever vaccination certificate and a signed letter from your bank stating your current balance. The six-month visa costs $150 while the 3-month visa half the price.

The Cheerful Traveler

Something to cheer up your trip.

A woman got on a bus with her baby. The driver took a look at it and cried, “Wow, that’s the ugliest baby I’ve ever seen in my life!”

The woman, fuming, went to the back of the bus, sat down, and told the guy sitting next to her. “That horrible driver insulted me!”

“You go up there and tell him off!” said the man. “Go on, I’ll hold your monkey for you.”

Major Cities in Cameroon

  1. Yaoundé – capital
  2. Douala – biggest city
  3. Bamenda
  4. Buea
  5. Ebolowa
  6. Garoua
  7. Kribi
  8. Limbe
  9. Ngaoundere

Places of Interest in Cameroon

  1. Korup National Park
  2. Lake Oku
  3. Mount Cameroon
  4. Ngoketunjia

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Cameroon

  1. Dja Faunal Reserve (1987)

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published.