Khartoum, Sudan

Khartoum (Arabic: الخرطوم) is the capital and second largest city in Sudan. It is located within a metropolitan area comprising Khartoum proper, Khartoum North and Omdurman. The city of Khartoum has a population of 640,000 people (2012 estimate), within a metropolitan area exceeding five million inhabitants. More on Khartoum Khartoum is located at the confluence […]

Cote Divoire

Côte d’Ivoire is a country in West Africa previously commonly known as Ivory Coast. (The country has adopted Côte d’Ivoire as the only official form.) It shares a border with Liberia to the west, Guinea to the northwest, Mali to the north, Burkina Faso to the northeast, and Ghana to the east. La plage d’Assinie, […]


Namibia is a country in southwestern Africa. Covering 825,418 sq km (318,696 sq mi), Namibia is bordered by Angola to the north, Zambia to the northeast, Botswana to the east and South Africa to the south. It has a population of 2.1 million people (2011 estimate). Its capital and largest city is Windhoek. More on […]

Casablanca, Morocco

Casablanca (Arabic: الدار البيضاء, al Dar al-Bayda) is the biggest city in Morocco as well as its main port. The city covers 324 sq km (125.1 sq mi) and has a population of 2.9 million people (2011 estimate) within a metropolitan area of 3.6 million. The city is the economic and business hub for Morocco. […]


Algeria is a major country on the African continent. Covering 2,381,741 sq km (919,595 sq mi), Algeria is the second biggest country in Africa – after Sudan – and the biggest facing the Mediterranean Sea. It is also the 11th biggest in the world. For such a big country, its population is quite low, around […]