Mildura, Australia

Mildura is a city on the banks of the Murray River, on the northwestern part of Victoria, Australia. Across the river to the north is the state of New South Wales. Mildura has a population of around 31,000 people (2012 estimate). More on Mildura Before the arrival of Europeans, the Mildura area was inhabited by […]

Albury, Australia

Albury is the second biggest inland city in New South Wales after Wagga Wagga. It is located on the northern bank of the Murray River, across from the town of Wodonga in Victoria. Albury has a population of 44,000 (2011 estimate). It is located on the Hume Highway approximately 588 km (365 mi) from Sydney […]

Alice Springs, Australia

Alice Springs is the second biggest town in the Northern Territory. About 1,500 km from both Adelaide and Darwin, it is one of the most remote in Australia. The town has a population of 27,500 (2011 estimate) and is popularly called Alice or the Alice. More on Alice Springs Alice Springs is located on the […]

Darwin, Australia

Darwin is the capital and biggest city in the Northern Territory, Australia. It is a city of 124,800 people located on the Timor Sea. Darwin covers an area of 112 sq km (43.2 sq mi). It is the smallest and northernmost state capital in Australia. More on Darwin Although the Dutch has skirted the northern […]

Goulburn, Australia

Goulburn is a provincial city in New South Wales, Australia. Located in the Southern Tablelands region, it is 195 km (121 mi) to the southwest of Sydney, at an elevation of 690 m (2,264 ft). More on Goulburn The Goulburn area was first surveyed by JamesMeehan in the early 19th century, and named after the […]