Dominican, Republic

Dominican Republic, not to be confused with Dominica, is a country occupying the eastern portion of the island of Hispaniola, in the Caribbean. Dominican Republic covers 48,442 sq km (18,704 sq mi) and is part of the Greater Antilles archipelago. It is the second largest country in the Caribbean after Cuba, and has a population […]

Falmouth, Jamaica

Falmouth is the main town of the parish of Trelawny on the northern coast of Jamaica. Founded in 1769, it is regarded as one of the best-preserved towns of the Georgian era in the Caribbean. The town is located some 18 miles to the east of Montego Bay. More on Falmouth Falmouth was founded by […]


Dominica, not to be confused with the Dominican Republic, is a small island nation in the Caribbean Sea. It covers 750 sq km (290 sq mi) and has a population of about 73,000 (2011 estimate). The capital and largest city is Roseau. The island is covered with lush mountainous rainforest, rising to a height of […]


Curaçao is an independent island nation in the southern Caribbean, off the coast of Venezuela. It is one of the ABC islands which include Aruba and Bonaire. Curaçao covers 444 sq km (171.4 sq mi) and has a population of 142,000 (2011 estimate). it includes the small, uninhabited Klein Curaçao. Together Curaçao is a constituent […]


Jamaica is an island nation in the Caribbean. One of the islands of the Greater Antilles, Jamaica covers 10,990 sq km. It measures 235 km (145 mi) from east to west and 80 km (50 mi) from north to south. More on Jamaica Jamaica is located 145 km (90 mi) to the south of Cuba […]