Tewkesbury, England

Tewkesbury is a town in the northern part of Gloucestershire, England. Situated at the confluence of the River Severn with the River Avon, it has a population of around 10,000 people (2012 estimate). More on Tewkesbury Tewkesbury was founded in the 7th century. It was named after Theocalious, a hermit who lived in the area. […]

Stratford Upon Avon, England

Stratford-upon-Avon is a market town in Warwickshire, England. The town is best known as the birthplace of playwright William Shakespeare, and for that fact alone, receives 3 million visitors every year. More on Stratford-upon-Avon Stratford-upon-Avon has a population of 26,000 people (2012 estimate). As its name suggests, it is located on the River Avon. The […]

Oxfordshire, England

Oxfordshire is one of the counties of South East England. It is often abbreviated Oxon. The county borders Warwickshire, Northamptonshire, Buckinghamshire, Berkshire, Wiltshire, Gloucestershire and Warwickshire. The county of Oxfordshire dates to the early 10th century as the land located north of the River Thames, with the Cotswolds to the west, the Chilterns to the […]

Godalming, England

Godalming is an affluent town in Waverley district, on the west-central part of Surrey, England. Located 7 km to the south of Guildford, it has a population of 22,000 people and is one of the commuter towns for people working in London. More on Godalming The earliest mention of Godalming was the in the Anglo-Saxon […]

Selby, England

Selby is a town in North Yorkshire, England. It is situated on the River Ouse, about 19 km (12 miles) to the south of York. The town has a population of around 15,000 people. It was part of the West Riding of Yorkshire until the restructuring of the subdivisions of Yorkshire that created North Yorkshire. […]