Huesca, Spain

Huesca is a city in the autonomous community of Aragón, Spain. It covers 161 sq km (62 sq mi) and has a population of just 52,000 people (2012 estimate). Huesca traces its history to a pre-Roman settlement called Bolskan. When the Romans ruled the area, they called the city Osca. It was made a municipum […]

Benalmadena, Spain

Benalmádena is a town in the province of Málaga, in the southern autonomous community of Andalusia, Spain. It occupies 27.2 sq km (10.5 sq mi) and has a population of 60,000 people (2012 estimate). More on Benalmádena Benalmádena has been inhabited since the Bronze Age. Various ancient peoples including the Phoenicians and Romans have exerted […]

Ibiza, Spain

Ibiza is one of the Balearic islands belonging to Spain. Covering an area of 571.6 sq km (220.7 sq mi), it is the third largest of the Balearic islands, which include Majorca, Minorca and Formentera, and some fifty or so smaller islands. Ibiza is one of the two Pine Islands or Pityuses, along with Formentera. […]

Castile and Leon, Spain

Castile and León is an autonomous community in northwestern Spain. It covers 94,222 sq km (36,379 sq mi) and has a population of 2.5 million people (2012 estimate). This makes it the largest autonomous community in Spain. Main Cities in Castile and León Valladolid – capital Burgos – court of justice Ávila León Palencia Salamanca […]

Mieres, Spain

Mieres is a municipality in the Principality of Asturias in northern Spain. It covers 146 sq km (56 sq mi) and has a population of 44,000 people (2012 estimate). The municipality of Mieres includes the main town, Mieres, as well as surrounding villages. Mieres is located in the heart of the coal mining center of […]