Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada

Newfoundland and Labrador (NL) is the easternmost province of Canada comprising the island of Newfoundland and the mainland Labrador. Newfoundland and Labrador has a populaton of around 515,000 people (2012 estimate), 94% of whom reside in Newfoundland. In terms of area, Newfoundland covers 108,860 sq km (42,031 sq mi) whereas Labrador is larger, at 294,330 […]

Terrebonne, Canada

Terrebonne is a suburb on the North Shore of Montreal, Quebec, Canada. It comprises the neighborhoods of Lachenaie, La Plaine and Terrebonne which until merger in 2001 were three separate cities. Terrebonne covers 154.74 sq km (59.75 sq mi) and has a population of 106,000 people (2012 estimate). More on Terrebonne Of the three former […]

Merida, Mexico

Mérida (map) is the biggest city in the Yucatán Peninsula, Mexico. It is also the state capital of Yucatán. More on Mérida Mérida is located some 35 km (22 mi) from the coast of the Gulf of Mexico, and has a population of 970,000 people (2011 estimate). It is the 12th largest metropolitan area in […]

Burnaby, Canada

Burnaby is the second most populous city in British Columbia, Canada, after Vancouver and Surrey. It covers 90.61 sq km (34.98 sq mi) and has a population of 223,000 people (2012 estimate). It is also the 20th most populous city in the country. More on Burnaby Burnaby was named after explorer Robert Burnaby, who surveyed […]

Ontario, Canada

Ontario (ON) is the most populous province or territory of Canada. Located on the central eastern part of the country, it is also the location of its biggest city, Toronto, and the national capital, Ottawa. Ontario covers 1,076,395 sq km (415,598 sq mi) and has a population of 12.9 million people (2012 estimate). In terms […]