Cote Divoire

Côte d’Ivoire is a country in West Africa previously commonly known as Ivory Coast. (The country has adopted Côte d’Ivoire as the only official form.) It shares a border with Liberia to the west, Guinea to the northwest, Mali to the north, Burkina Faso to the northeast, and Ghana to the east.

La plage d’Assinie, Côte d’Ivoire
Author: Wolog (Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported)

Côte d’Ivoire covers 322,462 sq km (124,502 sq mi) and has a population of 21 million people (2011 estimate). Its capital is Yamoussoukro while its largest city is Abidjan. The country is a semi-presidential republic using French as the official language. In 2010, Côte d’Ivoire had a nominal GDP of $23.6 billion and a per capita nominal GDP of $1,073. The per capita GDP by purchasing power parity is $1,685.

Côte d’Ivoire is on the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC+0). Its official currency is the West African CFA franc (XOF). Traffic drives on the right. Phone IDD code here is +225. The electricity here is 220V/50Hz using European plugs.

Cathédrale Saint-Paul d’Abidjan Plateau, Côte d’Ivoire
Author: Zenman (Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported)

Visitors are discouraged from visiting Côte d’Ivoire due to political volatility in the country. Since gaining independence on 7 August, 1960, the country has lived through a coup d’état and a civil war. The situation in the country continues to be unstable in the immediate future.

Visiting Côte d’Ivoire

The Felix-Houphouët-Boigny International Airport is the main gateway to Côte d’Ivoire with regular flights from Paris and Brussels.

Major Towns in Côte d’Ivoire

  1. Yamoussoukro – capital
  2. Abidjan – biggest city
  3. Aboisso
  4. Bouaké
  5. Dabou
  6. Grand-Bassam
  7. Korhogo
  8. San Pedro

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Côte d’Ivoire

  1. Mount Nimba Strict Nature Reserve In Danger List
  2. Taï National Park
  3. Comoé National Park In Danger List

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published.