Croatia is a small country in Central Europe. Shaped like the letter “C”, Croatia is bordered by Slovenia to the northwest, Hungary to the northeast, Serbia to the east, Bosnia_and_Herzegonia to the southeast, and a small section with Montenegro to the extreme southeast. The country has a long coastline facing the Adriatic Sea.

More on Croatia

Croatia covers 56,594 sq km (21,851 sq mi) and has a population of 4.5 million (2011 estimate), of which 90% of the population are ethnic Croats and 4.5% Serbs. The capital and largest city is Zagreb. The official language is Croatian. The official currency is the Kuna (HRK). The country is in the Central European Time, which is an hour ahead of Coordinated Universal Time. Traffic is driven on the right here. The phone IDD code is +385. Electricity is 230V/50Hz using European plugs.

In 2010, Croatia had a nominal GDP of $59.9 billion, and a per capita nominal GDP of $13,528. Its per capita GDP at purchasing power parity is $17,609.

The country is a parliamentary republic headed by a president and a prime minister. It was a kingdom since AD 925 till 1102, when it joined a union with Hungary. It became part of the Habsburg Empire on 1 January, 1527, until it declared independence to become part of the State of Slovenes, Croats and Serbs in 1918. Croatia became one of the six socialist republics of Yugoslavia in 1943. In 1991 it declared independence from Yugoslavia, resulting in a full-scale war between the Serbs and Croats. It ended with Croatian victory in the summer of 1995.

Planning your visit to Croatia

Visitors from the EU and Bosnia_and_Herzegovina can enter Croatia with just a valid identity card. Visitors who do not need a visa to enter Croatia include citizens of Australia, Canada, Malaysia and Singapore.

Flying in
Zagreb Airport (ZAG) is the main international airport for Croatia. It is also the base for the Croatian flag carrier Croatia Airlines. The airport receives regular scheduled flights from major cities in Europe.

Planning your travel within Croatia

Check the Croatian_Railway website in English for details of passenger trains to different cities in Croatia.

Preparing Money for your trip to Croatia

The currency used in Croatia is the Croatian Kuna (HRK). The following are the latest rates for Croatian Kuna in the last 24-hours.

Recommended Travel Guidebook

My favorite travel guidebook for further reading in preparation of your trip is the Croatia Eyewitness Guide, because it follows a format that I find useful to users, not to mention I have also contributed to some of the titles in the Eyewitness series of guidebooks.

Major Cities in Croatia

1. Zagreb – capital
2. Dubrovnik
3. Osijek
4. Pula
5. Rijeka
6. Slavonski_Brod
7. Split
8. Varaždin
9. Zadar

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Croatia

1. Cultural
2. Historical_Complex_of_Split_with_the_Palace_of_Diocletian (1979)
3. Old_City_of_Dubrovnik (1979)
4. Episcopal_Complex_of_the_Euphrasian_Basilica_in_the_Historic_Centre_of_Porec (1997)
5. Historic_City_of_Trogir (1997)
6. The_Cathedral_of_St_James_in_Šibenik (2000)
7. Stari_Grad_Plain (2008)

8. Plitvice_Lakes_National_Park (1979)

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published.