Devon, England

Devon is a ceremonial country in South West England. Covering 6,707 sq km (2,590 sq mi), it is the fourth largest county in England, and has a population of 1.14 million people (2011 estimate).

Ashprington Point, Devon
Author: Derek Harper (Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic)

Devon is on the peninsula which it shares with

Cornwall to the west, Somerset to the northeast and Dorset to the southeast. Devon faces the Bristol Channel to the north and the English Channel to the south.

Devon is home to the only natural UNESCO World Heritage Site in England, titled the Jurassic Coast, which stretches from East Devon to Dorset.

Visiting Devon

There are trains to different parts of Devon from London. The train service from London Waterloo goes to Exeter via Salisbury.

Taw Valley, Devon
Author: Grant Sherman (Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic)


Towns in Devon

  1. Exeter – county town
  2. Plymouth – largest city
  3. Axminster
  4. Barnstaple
  5. Beer
  6. Bideford
  7. Bovey Tracey
  8. Chagford
  9. Crediton
  10. Dartmouth
  11. Exmouth
  12. Ilfracombe
  13. Lynmouth
  14. Lynton
  15. Newton Abbot
  16. Paignton
  17. Princetown
  18. Sidmouth
  19. Tavistock
  20. Teignmouth
  21. Tiverton
  22. Torquay
  23. Totnes
  24. Woolacombe

Sights in Devon

  1. Buckfast Abbey
  2. Dartmoor National Park
  3. Exmoor National Park

UNESCO World Heritage Site in Devon

  1. Dorset and East Devon Coast

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published.