Dominica, not to be confused with the Dominican Republic, is a small island nation in the Caribbean Sea. It covers 750 sq km (290 sq mi) and has a population of about 73,000 (2011 estimate). The capital and largest city is Roseau. The island is covered with lush mountainous rainforest, rising to a height of 1,447 m (4,747 ft) at Morne Diablotins. Dominica is geologically the youngest island in the Lesser Antilles with ongoing geothermal volcanic activity and the second largest boiling lake in the world.

More on Dominica

Being a former British colony, Dominica uses English as the official language. It is in the Eastern Caribbean Time zone, which is four hours behind Coordinated Universal Time. Traffic is driven on the left, as in Britain. Phone IDD code is +1-767.

The official currency of Dominica is the East Caribbean dollar (XCD). In 2009, it has a nominal GDP of $362 million, equivalent to a per capita nominal GDP of $4,948. Its per capita GDP at purchasing power parity is $10,177.

The name Dominica means Sunday in Latin. The name was given by Christopher Columbus as he spotted the island on that day, on 3 November, 1493. The island was inhabited by the Carib people. In the hundred years following Columbus’s discovery of the island, it was not settled by Europeans, though Caribs from neighboring islands sought refuge there, as they were driven away by the arrival of Europeans.

In 1635, Dominica was claimed by France, and soon French settlements and missionaries were arriving there. The island was ceded by France to Britain in the 1763 Treaty of Paris, but during the American Revolutionary War, the French successfully invaded and got it back. Nonetheless it was returned to Britain once more in the 1783 Treaty of Paris. The French attempted to take it by force twice more, in 1795 and 1805, but failed in both attempts.

With the continuous increase in its population of ethnic African background, Dominica became the first British Caribbean colony where the government was controlled by the African majority. (Today over 86% of the population are blacks). It was a British crown colony from 1896 until 1958, when it became a province of the short-lived West Indies Federation. Dominica gained independence in 1978.

Planning your trip to Dominica

Visitors from the United_States, Canada, Singapore and the European Union are granted automatic visas for up to 21 days. The two main airports in Dominica are the Melville Hall Airport (DOM) and the Canefield Airport (DCF).

Preparing Money for your trip to Dominica

The currency used in Dominica is the East Caribbean dollar (XCD). The following are the latest rates for East Caribbean dollar in the last 24-hours.

Major Cities in Dominica

1. Roseau – capital
2. Portsmouth
3. Scott’s Head

Places of Interest in Dominica

1. Calibishie
2. Champagne
3. Melville Hall

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Dominica

1. Morne_Trois_Pitons_National_Park (1997)

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published.