East Riding of Yorkshire, England

East Riding of Yorkshire, also called simply as East Yorkshire, is a county in the region of Yorkshire and the Humber in England. Located on the eastern part of England facing the North Sea, it covers 2,479 sq km and has a population of 594,000 (2011 estimate). It is a historic district, one of the three “ridings” of Yorkshire – the other two being North Riding and West Riding which existed as administrative counties until 1974.

The East Riding of Yorkshire is today bordered by North Yorkshire, South Yorkshire, Lincolnshire and the city of Kingston upon Hull, a separate unitary authority. Geographically, it is composed of three sections. To the west is the eastern section of the Vale of York. To sht south is the Humber Estuary.

East Riding of Yorkshire is a sparsely population area without any large cities. The county town is Beverley, itself a small market and ecclesiastical town. The area is rural, with the economy based on agriculture. Many of the young people growing up in this county eventually find their way to bigger town, leaving the elder folks behind.

East Riding of Yorkshire experiences a High Mowthorpe climate. The warmest month is August, when the average high temperature reaches 19.4°C (66.9°F). Coldest month is January, when the average low drops to 0.3°C (32.5°F).

Visiting East Riding of Yorkshire

Take a train from Hull to Beverley, and from there, continue to your destination in East Riding of Yorkshire. It may be more practical to rent a car, if you don’t already have one with you.

Towns in East Riding of Yorkshire

  1. Beverley – county town
  2. Bridlington
  3. Driffield
  4. Goole
  5. Hedon
  6. Hornsea
  7. Howden
  8. Kingston upon Hull
  9. Market Weighton
  10. Pocklington
  11. Snaith

Sights in East Riding of Yorkshire

  1. Bempton Cliffs
  2. Beverley Friary
  3. Beverley Minster
  4. Burnby Hall
  5. Burton Agnes Hall
  6. Burton Agnes Manor House
  7. Fort Paull
  8. Hornsea Mere
  9. Howden Minster
  10. Humber Estuary
  11. River Aire
  12. River Derwent
  13. River Don
  14. River Hull
  15. River Ouse
  16. River Trent
  17. Rudston Monolith
  18. Sewerby Hall
  19. Skidby Windmill
  20. Skipsea Castle
  21. Spurn
  22. Stamford Bridge
  23. Watton Beck
  24. Yorkshire Wildlife Trust


Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published.