Friuli Venezia Giulia, Italy

Friuli-Venezia Giulia is a region in north-eastern Italy. It is one of the twenty regions of Italy, and one of the five holding special autonomous status. Friuli-Venezia Giulia is the only region of Italy sharing an international border with Slovenia. It also borders Austria to the north. To the west is the Veneto region.

Friuli-Venezia Giulia is the fifth smallest region in Italy. Covering 7,858 sq km (3,034 sq mi), it has a population of about 1.2 million people. Its capital is the city of


La Chiesa di Barcola
Author: Tiesse (public domain)

Geographically, Friuli-Venezia Giulia comprises four different areas. The northern part of the region is mountainous. It includes Carnia and the tail end of the Alps. We find the highest peaks of the region here, at some 2,700 m above sea level.

To the immediate south of the mountains are the hilly area. This is the central part of the region, all the way to the border with Slovenia. This area is renowned for its white wine. Further south is the central plain, which has poor, permeable soil that require extensive irrigation. On the southernmost part is the coastal area, split into two parts by the mouth of River Isonzo. To the west of the river mouth, the coast is shallow and sandy, on to the east it rises into cliffs.

Friuli-Venezia Giulia is divided into four provinces namely Gorizia, Pordenone, Trieste and Udine. While most people in Friuli-Venezia Giulia speak Italian, the majority also understand the local dialect, called the Friulian language. It is commonly heard throughout the region, with the possible exception of Trieste province, where the Slovene language is predominant.

Places of Interest in Friuli-Venezia Giulia

  1. Trieste – regional capital
  2. Cividale del Friuli
  3. Gorizia
  4. Grado
  5. Lignano
  6. Pordenone
  7. San Daniele del Friuli
  8. Spilimbergo
  9. Trieste
  10. Udine

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published.