Gloucestershire, England

Gloucestershire is a county in South West England. It covers 3,150 sq km (1,220 sq mi) and has a population of 840,000 (2011 estimate). Gloucestershire is bordered by Monmouthshire in Wales to the west, Herefordshire and Worcestershire to the northwest, Warwickshire to the northeast, Oxfordshire to the east, Wiltshire to the southeast and Somerset to the south.

Thatched cottage in the Westington area, Chipping Campden, Gloucestershire
Author: John Smith (Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic)

Gloucestershire includes parts of Cotswold Hills, the valley of River Severn and Forest of Dean. The River Severn, which is the largest river in England, enters the Bristol Channel in Gloucestershire. Gloucester is the county town and biggest city in Gloucestershire.

Market house in Dursley, Gloucestershire
Author: Jongleur100 (public domain)

St Briavels Castle, Gloucestershire
Author: Bob Tinley (Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic)

Main Towns in Gloucestershire

  1. Gloucester – county town
  2. Abbeydale
  3. Amberley
  4. Bourton-on-the-Water
  5. Bradley Stoke
  6. Cheltenham
  7. Chipping Campden
  8. Chipping Sodbury
  9. Cirencester
  10. Coleford
  11. Dursley
  12. Filton
  13. Hempsted
  14. Kingswood
  15. Lechlade
  16. Minchinhampton
  17. Nailsworth
  18. Patchway
  19. Stonehouse
  20. Stow-on-the-Wold
  21. Stroud
  22. Tetbury
  23. Tewkesbury
  24. Thornbury
  25. Winchcombe
  26. Wotton-under-Edge
  27. Yate

Sights in Gloucestershire

  1. Cotswolds
  2. Forest of Dean

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published.