Hungary is a landlocked country in Central Europe. It covers 93,030 sq km (35,919 sq mi) and is bordered by Slovakia to the north, Austria to the west, Slovenia to the southwest, Croatia and Serbia to the south, Romania to the east and Ukraine to the northeast. Hungary has a population of about 10 million people (2011 estimate). Its capital and biggest city is Budapest.

More on Hungary

Hungary is in the Central European Time Zone, which is an hour ahead of Coordinated Universal Time (UTC+1), and two hours in summer. Its official currency is called the Forint (HUF). Its phone IDD code is +36. Traffic is driven on the right. The electricity is 230V/50Hz using European plug.

In 2009, Hungary had a nominal GDP of $129.4 billion, and a per capita nominal GDP of $12,926. Its per capita GDP at purchasing power parity stood at $18,566. The country is a member of the European Union, NATO and OECD.

The land where Hungary is located today was inhabited by the Celts from circa 450 BC until 9 AD, when Roman occupation began. Local rule began in the late 9th century with ruler A’pa’d. Between 1541 and 1699, the land was occupied by the Ottomans, aftger which Hungary became part of the Habsburg Monarchy, which later became the Austro-Hungarian dual monarchy in 1867.

World War I dealt a devastating blow on Hungary, which lost 70% of its territory. Hungary was under communism from 1947 until 1989, when it accelerated the collapse of the Eastern Bloc by opening its border with Austria. Today Hungary is a parliamentary republic headed by a president and a prime minister.

Planning your visit to Hungary

Hungary is a member of the Schengen Agreement. Visitors from EU and EFTA countries only need to bring an approved ID to enter. As of January 2011, you do not need a visa for entering Hungary or any other Schengen member country if you are a citizen of Albania, Andorra, Antigua_and_Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Bosnia_and_Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Costa_Rica, Croatia, El_Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong_Kong, Israel, Japan, Macau, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, New_Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Saint_Kitts_and_Nevis, San_Marino, Seychelles, Singapore, South_Korea, Taiwan, United_States, Uruguay, Vatican_City, and Venezuela.

Budapest Franz Liszt International Airport (BUD) is the largest of the five international airports in Hungary. It has connections with most major cities in Europe, as well as a select number of destinations elsewhere. The airport is located 16 km (10 miles) to the southeast of downtown Budapest, which can be reached by road.

Preparing Money for your trip to Hungary

The currency used in Hungary is the Hungarian Forint (HUF). The following are the latest rates for Hungarian Forint in the last 24-hours.

Cities and Towns of Hungary

1. Budapest – capital
2. Debrecen
3. Győr
4. Kecskeme’t
5. Miskolc
6. Nyi’regyha’za
7. Pe’cs
8. Szeged
9. Sze’kesfehe’rva’r

Places of Interest in Hungary

1. Aggtelek Caves
2. Bu”kk
3. Lake Balaton

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Hungary

1. Budapest,_including_the_Banks_of_the_Danube,_the_Buda_Castle_Quarter_and_Andra’ssy_Avenue
2. Old_Village_of_Hollo’Kő_and_its_Surroundings
3. Caves_of_Aggtelek_Karst_and_Slovak_Karst
4. Millenary_Benedictine_Abbey_of_Pannonhalma_and_its_Natural_Environment
5. Hortoba’gy_National_Park_-_the_Puszta
6. Early_Christian_Necropolis_of_Pe’cs_(Sopianae)
7. Ferto”_/_Neusiedlersee_Cultural_Landscape (2001)
8. Tokaj_Wine_Region_Historic_Cultural_Landscape

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published.