Île-de-France is the region of France encompassing the metropolitan area of Paris. The name literally means the “isle of France”. It is the wealthiest, most densely populated of the 26 administrative regions of the country.

Île-de-France covers 12,012 sq km (4,637 sq mi) and has a population of 11.7 million people (2011 estimate). As such, this small region in France has a higher population than

Austria, Belgium, Greece, Portugal and Sweden. Its GDP as of 2007 stood at €462. If it were an independent country, it would have the 15th biggest economy in the world.

Île-de-France is bordered by Picardy to the north, Champagne-Ardenne to the east, Burgundy to the southeast, Centre to the south and Upper Normandy to the west. The city of Paris occupies 23% of Île-de-France, while the metropolitan area of Paris in some areas extend beyond its border.

Going to Ile-de-France

All transportation to Ile-de-France are through the airports and railway stations of Paris.

Cities in Île-de-France

  1. Paris – capital
  2. Châteaufort
  3. Eragny
  4. Fontainbleu
  5. Rueil-Malmaison
  6. Marne-la-Vallée
  7. Nogent-sur-Marne
  8. Versailles

Tourist Destinations in Île-de-France

  1. Disneyland Resort Paris

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published.