Marquesas Islands , French Polynesia

Marquesas Islands is a group of volcanic islands in French Polynesia. One of the five administrative divisions of the French Polynesia, it covers 1,049 sq km (405 sq mi) and has a population of some 8,600 people (2011 estimate).

The administrative capital of the Marquesas Islands is Taiohae, located on the island of

Nuku Hiva.

More on Marquesas Islands

The Marquesas Islands were first settled by Polynesians close to two thousand years ago. Ethnological and linguistic studies show that they may have come from

Tonga or Samoa. The Spanish were the first Europeans to discover the islands when Spanish galleons on their way from Mexico to Manila arrive there.

The Marquesas Islands comprise two groups, namely the Northern Group and the Southern Group. Islands of Northern Marquesas include Eiao, Hatutu, Motu Iti, Motu Oa, Motu One, Nuku Hiva, Ua Huka and Ua Pou. Those of Southern Marquesas include Fatu Hiva, Fatu Huku, Hiva Oa, Moho Tani, Motu Nao, Tahuata and Terihi.

Visiting Marquesas Islands

Air Tahiti flies to Nuku Hiva and Hiva Oa, the two main islands of the Marquesas Islands, from Tahiti.

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published.