New South Wales, Australia

New South Wales is a state on the southeast corner of the Australian continent. It is the oldest state in Australia, and part of the earliest European settlement which began there in the 18th century around Sydney Cove.

New South Wales covers an area of 809,444 sq km (312,528 sq mi). It has a population of 7 million people, the majority of which are concentrated in the Sydney Metropolitan Area. The city of Sydney is the oldest European settlement in Australia, and it is today also the biggest city in the country.

Three Sisters, Katoomba, New South Wales
Author: Noodle snacks (Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported)

New South Wales is bordered by

Queensland to the north, South Australia to the west, and Victoria to the south. The Australian Capital Territory forms an enclave within the state.

Within New South Wales is Mount Kosciuszko, which at 2,228 m (7,310 ft) is the tallest mountain in Australia. It is located in the Snowy Mountains, within Kosciuszko National Park, on the southern part of the state, near the border with Victoria.

The geography of New South Wales is that of desert to the west and farmland to the east. The state is a major wine producing region of Australia. The main mountain range is known as the Great Dividing Range. It stretches from Victoria through New South Wales into Queensland. Within this area is the aforementioned Snowy Mountains, with many peaks rising above 1,000 m.

Chalotte Pass Ski Resort, New South Wales
Author: Pee Tern (Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported)

Going to New South Wales

By Plane

The main airport is Kingsford Smith International Airport in Sydney. It is the biggest airport in Australia, with the most connectivity with all the cities of the country.

By Road
You can enter New South Wales by road from South Australia, Victoria and Queensland. The border towns are Broken Hill, Albury-Wodonga or Eden and Tweed Heads respectively.

From South Australia, take the Barrier Highway. From Victoria, you can take the Hume Highway entering at Albury, the Princes Highway entering at Eden, anf the Sturt Highway entering just north of Mildura. From Queensland take the Pacific Highway, entering at Tweed Heads/Coolangatta.


Major Cities of New South Wales

  1. Sydney – state capital
  2. Albury
  3. Armidale
  4. Coffs Harbour
  5. Newcastle
  6. Tamworth
  7. Wagga Wagga
  8. Wollongong

Places of Interest in New South Wales

  1. Blue Mountains National Park
  2. Lord Howe Island
  3. Mount Warning National Park
  4. Oxley Wild Rivers National Park
  5. Warrumbungle National Park
  6. Wollemi National Park

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published.