North Yorkshire, England

North Yorkshire is a shire county within the region of Yorkshire and the Humber in North East England. It covers 8,654 sq km (3,341 sq mi) and is therefore the biggest ceremonial county in England. North Yorkshire has a population slightly over a million (2011 estimate).

The two main geological features of North Yorkshire are the North York Moors and the Yorkshire Dales. To the north of the North York Moors are the Tees Lowlands while to the west the Vale of Mowbray and the Vale of York. Located to the south of North York Moors lies the Vale of Pickering. The highest point in North Yorkshire is the 736 m (2,415 ft) Whernside. There are three main rivers in North Yorkshire namely the River Ure, River Swale and the River Tees.

North Yorkshire experiences a temperate climate. Warmest months are July and August, when the average high temperature touches 22°C (72°F). Coldest months are December, January and February, when the average low drops to 1°C (34°F). October is the wettest month with 62 mm (2.44 in) of precipitation.

As would be expected, farming is the main form of occupation in North Yorkshire, along with mining and power generation.

Visiting North Yorkshire

The nearest airport is the Leeds/Bradford International Airport (LBA). From there, you can continue to any of the towns in North Yorkshire. You can also take a bus or train to York from London King’s Cross Station.


Towns in North Yorkshire

  1. Northallerton – county town
  2. York – biggest city
  3. Buckden
  4. Harrogate
  5. Hawes
  6. Knaresborough
  7. Leyburn
  8. Middlesbrough
  9. Richmond
  10. Ripon
  11. Scarborough
  12. Selby
  13. Settle
  14. Skipton
  15. Stockton-on-Tees
  16. Whitby

Sights in North Yorkshire

  1. Ampleforth College
  2. Beningbrough Hall
  3. Bolton Abbey
  4. Bolton Castle
  5. Brimham Rocks
  6. Byland Abbey
  7. Castle Howard and the Howardian Hills
  8. Catterick Garrison
  9. Cleveland Hills
  10. Drax
  11. Duncombe Park
  12. Embsay & Bolton Abbey Steam Railway
  13. Eston Nab
  14. Falconry
  15. Flamingo Land Theme Park and Zoo
  16. Gisborough Priory
  17. Helmsley Castle
  18. Ingleborough Cave
  19. Kirkham Priory
  20. Lightwater Valley
  21. Malham Cove
  22. Middleham Castle
  23. Mount Grace Priory
  24. North Yorkshire Moors Railway
  25. Ormesby Hall
  26. Petrifying Well
  27. Richmond Castle
  28. Rievaulx Abbey
  29. Ripon Cathedral
  30. Selby Abbey
  31. Scarborough Castle
  32. Shandy Hall
  33. Skipton Castle
  34. Stanwick Iron Age Fortifications
  35. Stump Cross Caverns
  36. Thornborough Henges
  37. Wharram Percy
  38. Whitby Abbey
  39. York Minster
  40. Yorkshire Air Museum

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in North Yorkshire

  1. Studley Royal Park and Ruins of Fountains Abbey

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published.