Nottinghamshire, England

Nottinghamshire is a county in East Midlands, England. Covering 2,160 sq km (830 sq mi), it has a population of around a million people (2011 estimate). The county town is Nottingham, but the county council is located in West Bridgford. Nottinghamshire is bordered by South Yorkshire to the northwest, Lincolnshire to the east, Leicesthershire to the south, and Derbyshire to the west.

Nottinghamshire comprises Nottingham, a unitary authority, and seven districts, namely Rushcliffe, Broxtowe, Ashfield, Gedling, Newark and Sherwood, Mansfield and Bassetlaw.

Nottinghamshire is perhaps most famous for its association with the legend of Robin Hood. As a result, the county receives a regular stream of tourist visiting Robin Hood-related sights such as the city of Nottingham and the villages in Sherwood Forest. To cash in on this tourist potential, the local airport is called the Robin Hood Airport (DSA). It is located in neighbouring South Yorkshire, based on the original Robin Hood legends which were set in Barnsdale Forest, in South Yorkshire.

The Nottingham area has seen human habitation going back to Roman times. The Angles formed settlements here in the 5th century, and the Saxons some time between the 6th and 11th centuries.

During the 19th century, industrialization brought the lace and cotton industries to Nottinghamshire. Coal mining also became an important economic activity which declined in the 20th century, particularly after the 1984-85 miners’ strike.


Towns in Nottinghamshire

  1. Nottingham – county town
  2. Mansfield
  3. Newark-on-Trent
  4. Worksop

Sights in Nottinghamshire

  1. Clumber Park
  2. Creswell Crags
  3. Hawton Church
  4. Newstead Abbey
  5. Nottingham Castle
  6. Rufford Country Park
  7. Rushcliffe Country Park
  8. Southwell Minster
  9. Sherwood Forest
  10. Sherwood Observatory
  11. The Harley Gallery
  12. Welbeck Abbey
  13. Wollaton Hall
  14. Ye Olde Trip To Jerusalem

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published.