Oxfordshire, England

Oxfordshire is one of the counties of South East England. It is often abbreviated Oxon. The county borders Warwickshire, Northamptonshire, Buckinghamshire, Berkshire, Wiltshire, Gloucestershire and Warwickshire.

The county of Oxfordshire dates to the early 10th century as the land located north of the River Thames, with the Cotswolds to the west, the Chilterns to the east and the Midlands to the north. The highest point in the county is White Horse Hill, standing at a height of 261 meters (856 ft).

Rapeseed farm, East Hendred, Oxfordshire
Author: Pam Brophy (Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic)

The Thames at Abingdon
Author: Krzysztof.Redzko (Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported)

Main Towns in Oxfordshire

  1. Oxford – biggest city
  2. Abingdon
  3. Banbury
  4. Bicester
  5. Chinnor
  6. Chipping Norton
  7. Didcot
  8. Henley-on-Thames
  9. Kidlington
  10. Thame
  11. Wallingford
  12. Wantage
  13. Witney

Districts in Oxfordshire

  1. Cherwell
  2. South Oxfordshire
  3. Vale of White Horse
  4. West Oxfordshire

Sights in Oxfordshire

  1. Oxfordshire Cotswolds

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published.