Somerset, England

Somerset is a county in South West England. It is located to the south of the Bristol Channel and the mouth of the River Severn. Somerset is bordered by Gloucestershire to the north, Wiltshire to the east, Dorset to the southeast and Devon to the southwest. It covers 4,171 sq km (1,610 sq mi) and has a population of 913,000 (2011 estimate).

The landscape of Somerset comprises rolling hills and large flat expanses. Among the natural features of Somerset include Mendip Hills, Quantock Hills and Exmoor National Park.

Shepton Mallet marketplace in Somerset
Author: Wurzeller (Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported)

Worthy Toll Road Gate, Somerset
Author: Maedin Tureaud (Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported)

Montacute House, Somerset
Author: Mark Robinson (Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic)


Towns in Somerset

  1. Taunton – county town
  2. Bath – biggest city
  3. Bridgwater
  4. Glastonbury
  5. Langport
  6. Minehead
  7. Wells
  8. Weston-super-Mare
  9. Wincanton
  10. Yeovil

UNESCO World Heritage Site in Somerset

  1. City of Bath

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published.