South, Australia

South Australia is a state of Australia. It is located in the south central portion of the Australian continent. South Australia covers an area of 1,043,514 sq km (402,903 sq mi) and is the fourth largest state in Australia. 5.7% of the area is covered by water. The highest point in the state is Mount Woodroffe, at 1,435 m (4,708 ft).

South Australia is bordered by

Victoria to the southeast, New South Wales to the east, Queensland to the northeast, the Northern Territory to the north and Western Australia to the west. It is the only state in Australia to share a border with all the other states and territory of mainland Australia.

Cape Spencer, Innes National Park
Author: Diceman (public domain)

South Australia has a population of 1.6 million people. Its biggest city and capital is Adelaide. The state observes the Australian Central Standard Time, which is +9 ½ GMT, and observes Daylight Saving Time from the first Sunday of October to the first Sunday of April, at 10 ½ GMT. The postal abbreviation for South Australia is SA.

Going to South Australia

The eastern part of South Australia is the country’s main fruit-growing area, hence it observes strict quarantine against fruits brought in from elsewhere, including from other states of Australia. There is a fine of up to A$2,500 for this offence.

Rock formations at Flinders Chase National Park, Queensland
Author: Cookaa (Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported)

By Plane

Adelaide Airport is the main airport serving South Australia, and is the 5th biggest airport in the country. Its new terminal opened in 2005. Since then, it has won the award of being the world’s second-best international airport in the 5-15 million passenger category.

By Train

There are train services from Adelaide to other states of Australia. The Indian Pacific service runs between Perth and Sydney through Adelaide. The Ghan is a twice a week train between Adelaide and Darwin, while the Overland is a three-times-a-week service between Adelaide and Melbourne.

Art Gallery of South Australia, Adelaide
Author: Kajinoz (Creative Commons Attribution ShareAlike 3.0)

Major Cities and Towns of South Australia

  1. Adelaide – state capital
  2. Mount Gambier
  3. Murray Bridge
  4. Port Augusta
  5. Port Lincoln
  6. Port Pirie
  7. Victoria Harbor
  8. Whyalla

Places of Interest in South Australia

  1. Coober Pedy
  2. Coonawarra
  3. Lake Eyre
  4. Nullarbor Plain
  5. The Coorong

  1. Coober Pedy
  2. Coonawarra
  3. Lake Eyre
  4. Nullarbor Plain
  5. The Coorong

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published.