Umbria, Italy

Umbria is a landlocked region in central Italy. Covering 8,456 sq km, it has a population of 907,000 people, making it one of the smallest regions of the country. Its capital is Perugia. Umbria is the only landlocked region of Italy that is not sharing an international border with another country.

More on Umbria

Geography of Umbria
Umbria is bordered by Marche to the east, Lazio to the south and Tuscany to the west. The region is mountainous, as the Apennine mountain range passes right through it. The highest peak in Umbria is Monte Vettore, at 2,476 m (8,123 ft). The Tiber is one of the main rivers in the region. It forms the border between Umbria and Lazio.
History of Umbria

Umbria got its name from a pre-Roman tribe, the Umbri, that once inhabited the region. The tribe suffered an invasion by the Etruscans from 700 to 500 BC. Originally inhabiting the western seaboard of the Italian peninsula, they were driven uplands to their present location. By the time the Etruscans declined in power, the Romans had grown in strength, and by around 220 BC, the Umbrians were under Roman rule.

After the Western Roman Empire collapsed, Umbria was ruled by the Ostrogoths and then the Byzantines. Then came the Lombards and the Holy Roman Empire. Umbria was part of the Napoleonic Empire from 1809 to 1814, and was incorporated into the Kingdom of Italy in 1861.

Economy of Umbria
Agriculture is the mainstay of Umbria’s economy, with chief products including tobacco, olive oil and wine. As the region produces excellent white wines, it has also developed its agri-tourism industry attracting visitors to its vineyards.

Visiting Umbria

The main highways serving Umbria include the E45 (SS3bis) which passes through Perugia from north to south. The A1 motorway passes the southern part of Umbria but does not reach Perugia.

Cities & Towns in Umbria

  1. Perugia
  2. Assisi
  3. Norcia

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published.