Veneto, Italy

Veneto is a region in northern Italy. It covers 18,399 sq km (7,104 sq mi) and has a population of 4.9 million people (2012 estimate). Its capital and biggest city is Venice.

More on Veneto

Geography of Veneto
Veneto is bordered by Friuli Venezia Giulia to the east, Emilia Romagna to the south, Lombardy to the west and Trentino-Alto Adige/S├╝dtirol to the north. It also shares a short border with Austria at its northernmost part.

Veneto extends from Lake Garda on the west to the mouth of the river Tagliamento to the east. The coastal part of Veneto is characterized by the Venetian Lagoon which empties into the Adriatic Sea. Although much of the coastal area comprises marshland, islands and sandbars, Veneto also includes a section of the Dolomites, with the highest peak, the Marmolada, reaching to 3,342 m (10,965 ft).

History of Veneto
Veneto occupies most of the area that was historically the Republic of Venice, an independent state that existed for over a thousand years until it was dissolved by Napoleon in 1796 and ceded to Austria as the Venetian Province.
Administrative Divisions of Veneto
Veneto comprises seven provinces namely Belluno, Padova, Rovigo, Treviso, Venice, Verona and Vicenza.
Economy of Veneto
Traditionally regarded as a poor agricultural region, Venoto has dramatically enhanced its agricultural sector in the past 2-3 decades. Today the region is among the most productive in the country. Its agricultural products are diverse, ranging from maize and green peas to cherries, apples, sugar beets and more. It is also one of the major wine-producing regions of Italy. The Venetian plains have also been industrialized. It has plants producing footwear, food products, furniture, electronics and more.

Veneto also has a highly developed tourist industry. One-fifth of tourists to Italy visit destinations in Veneto. It attracts 60 million visitors every year, and has the second highest number of hotel rooms in the country after Emilia Romagna.

Language of Veneto
Although most people in Veneto are able to speak standard Italian, they also have their own distinctive Venetian language, which is further broken down to different dialect groups. These include the Easter or Coastal group (Venice), Central group (Padua, Vicenza, Polesine), Western group (Verona), North-Central group (Treviso) and Northern group (Belluno, Feltre, Agordo, Cadore, Zoldo Alto).

Visiting Veneto

The A4 motorway passes east-west through Veneto, linking the cities of

Verona and Padua while skirting the coastline near Venice as it heads towards the border with Slovenia.

Cities & Towns in Veneto

  1. Venice
  2. Cortina d’Ampezzo
  3. Padua
  4. Rovigo
  5. Verona
  6. Vicenza

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published.