West Midlands, England

West Midlands is one of the nine official regions of England. As its name suggests, it covers the western half of the area known as the Midlands. West Midlands is 13,004 sq km (5,020 sq mi) is size, the 7th largest out of the 9 regions of England. Its population of around 5.3 million people (2011 estimate) is ranked 5th. West Midlands has a per capita GDP of £17,161 in 2008, also ranking it 7th place among the 9 regions.

Hill Fields Farm Harvest Hill Lane, West Midlands
Author: John Winterbottom (Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic)

West Midlands is composed of six ceremonial counties. They are Herdfordshire, Shropshire, Straffordshire, Warwickshire, West Midlands and Worcestershire. The metropolitan county of West Midlands is one of the ceremonial counties of West Midlands. It is also the most populous ceremonial county in West Midlands.

Among the towns and cities in West Midlands include Birmingham, the second largest city in the United Kingdom. Coventry, Stoke-on-Trent and Wolverhampton are three of the cities with a population exceeding 250,000. Other major cities in West Midlands include Dudley, Sutton Coldfield, Telford, Walsall, and West Bromwich.

Counties of West Midlands

  1. Herefordshire
  2. Shropshire
  3. Staffordshire
  4. Warwickshire
  5. West Midlands County
  6. Worcestershire

Major Cities in West Midlands

  1. Birmingham
  2. Coventry
  3. Dudley
  4. Stoke-on-Trent
  5. Sutton Coldfield
  6. Telford
  7. Walsall
  8. West Bromwich
  9. Wolverhampton


Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published.