More on Whyalla
Whyalla was founded in 1901 and was originally called Hummock’s Hill. It was located at the end of the tramway of the Broken Hill Proprietary Company, where iron ore was sent to the lead smelters of
Between 1905 and 1920, various establishments in the area were renamed from Hummock Hill to Whyally, until eventually the town itself was proclaimed by that time. Whyalla grew as it became a shipment point for iron ore. A blast furnace and harbor were built there in the 1930s. Whyalla experienced rapid growth in the 1960s. As was before, the Broken Hill Proprietary Company was instrumental in herding its growth.
Today, in addition to its heavy industries, Whyalla is slowly developing its tourism sector, a challenge as it competes with nearby cities that are well endowed with tourism products.
Whyalla is about an hours drive from
Sights & Attractions to visit in Whyalla
- Black Point
Diving destination particularly popular for viewing the annual migration of the Australian Giant Cuttlefish.
- HMAS Whyalla
The first ship to be built in the city, and was named after it. It is today on display on dry land.