Wiltshire, England

Wiltshire is a landlocked county in South West England. It is bordered by Gloucestershire to the north, Somerset to the west, Dorset to the south, Hampshire to the southeast, Berkshire to the east, and a tiny portion of Oxfordshire to the northeast.

Wiltshire covers 3,485 sq km (1,346 sq mi) and has a population of 456,000 (2011 estimate). The county town is Trowbridge while the only city is Salisbury. Wiltshire has numerous ancient landmarks, the most famous of which is Stonehenge. Salisbury Cathedral is another famous attraction in this country.

St Nicholas’ Church, Berwick Bassett, Wiltshire
Author: Brian Robert Marshall (Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic)

Sheldon Manor entrance drive, Wiltshire
Author: Roger Cornfoot (Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic)

Avebury Stone Circle, Wiltshire
Author: JimChampion (Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported)

Main Towns in Wiltshire

  1. Trowbridge – county town
  2. Salisbury – only city
  3. Bradford on Avon
  4. Chippenham
  5. Malmesbury
  6. Marlborough
  7. Melksham
  8. Swindon
  9. Warminster

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Wiltshire

  1. Stonehenge, Avebury and Associated Sites


Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published.