Windward Islands , French Polynesia

Windward Islands are a group of islands in French Polynesia. They are the eastern cluster of islands that form the Society Islands. Windward Islands cover 1,195 sq km (461 sq mi) and has a population of 195,000 people (2012 estimate). They are the most populous group of islands in French Polynesia.

More on Windward Islands

The main islands of the Windward Islands are

Tahiti, Moorea, Mehetia, Tetiaroa and Maiao. The capital of both the Windward Islands as well as the whole French Polynesia is Papeete, on the island of Tahiti. Tetiaroa dna Maiao are coral atolls.

Visiting Windward Islands

Faaa International Airport on Tahiti is the main gateway for visitors to the Windward Islands. It is also the main airport for French Polynesia.

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published.