Zambia is two hours ahead of Coordinated Universal Time (UTC+2). Its currency is known as the Zambian kwacha (ZMK). Traffic is driven on the left here, just as in Britain. The phone IDD code is +260. English is the official language, although vernacular languages such as Bemba, Lunda and Nyanja are commonly spoken as well. More than half of the population consider themselves Christians.

The first European to arrive in Zambia was 18th century Portuguese explorer Francisco de Lacerda. The most prominent European to explore it was DavidLivingstone. In 1888, the British South Africa Company (BSA Company) was given mining rights in Zambia. The country was eventually named under Cecil Rhodes, leader of the BSA Company, and was known as Rhodesia. The country was
administered as North Eastern Rhodesia and North Western Rhodesia, which were eventually merged to form Northern Rhodesia in 1911. Meanwhile Southern Rhodesia remains a separate entity which today becomes Zimbabwe.

In 1924, the Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland was created. This semi-autonomous region comprised Northern Rhodesia, Southern Rhodesia and Nyasaland, which is today known as Malawi. Northern Rhodesia attained independence on 24 October, 1964, and became known as the Republic of Zambia.

Although mineral rich, post-independence Zambia was plagued with civil wars and conflict with neighboring countries including Zimbabwe, Angola and Mozambique. It was only in the 21st century that Zambia began to stabilize, its high inflation brought under control, and the economy finally began to witness real GDP growth.

Zambia is today a presidential representative democratic republic. It is headed by a president who is both head of state and head of government. The country experiences a humid subtropical or tropical wet and dry climate. It has two main seasons, the rainy and the dry. The rainy season is from November to April while the dry season is from May to October.

Planning your visit to Zambia

Most visitors to Zambia will need a visa except for citizens of a number of countries including Ireland, Malaysia, Singapore, South Africa and Zimbabwe.

Visitors to Zambia often report that the country is at present not well prepared to receive tourists. There are few tourists coming to Zambia. The main airport, Lusaka International Airport (LUN), receives flights by British Airways from London-Heathrow.

Major Cities in Zambia

   1. Lusaka – capital

   2. Chingola

   3. Chipata

   4. Kabwe

   5. Kasama

   6. Kitwe

   7. Livingstone

   8. Mufulira

   9. Ndola

Places of Interest in Zambia

   1. Blue Lagoon National Park

   2. Kafue National Park

   3. Lochinvar National Park

   4. Lower Zambezi National Park

   5. North Luangwa National Park

   6. Nsumbu National Park

   7. South Luangwa National Park

   8. West Lunga National Park

UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Zambia

   1. Mosi-oa-Tunya / Victoria Falls

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published.